HCA and Qualified Carers in Ireland QQI Awards

This is where you can find all the information regarding training and upskill for HCAs and Qualified Carers. Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) is an Irish state agency established by the Quality Assurance and Qualifications (Education and Training) Act 2012. QQI is the amalgamation of the previously operational Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC).

NFQ : National Framework of Qualifications
Screenshot 2019-11-20 at 22.51.18.png
Major Awards
Link to QQI Website
Health Care Support 5M4339
Health Service Skills 5M3782
Community Health Services 5M4468
Nursing Studies 5M4349
Health Services Supervisory Management Skills 6M4978 *

Links to explain QQI modules [Level 5] all come directly from the QQI websiteEach link when clicked on will tell you about the learning outcomes (LO) for each 'Major Award', this is what you can expect to cover in class and this will also tell you how many assignments there are in each one. Each Major Award has mandatory modules to complete and then you choose remaining ones from the selective lists.  

Each minor component (subject) is usually worth 15 credits, 120 credits make up a full Major Award.

IF you have lost your Certificate you can use the following link to get an official copy of your certificate sent to you.


Health Services Supervisory Management Skills 6M4978 : This Major Award is Level 6 NFQ

Need training? Check out our opportunities section for recommended training providers. 

Want to work in Health Care? Check out our job opportunities section